Six adapted farewells

This is it folks, the final six! The following are famous last words which I have adapted (ripped off and changed more like 😉 ) for the ELT blogosphere. Last task for you lot: can you identify the original sources?

1. Either those dogme-influenced blogs go, or I do.

2. It’s a far, far better thing I post than I have ever posted. It’s a far, far better rest I go to than I have ever known.

3. I am leaving Six Things now and I may be some time.

4. I have offended God and the blogosphere because my work did not reach the quality it should have.

5. Last posts are for fools who haven’t blogged enough.

6. Don’t cry for me, ELT.

GOODBYE! IT’S BEEN GREAT!

Published in: on December 23, 2010 at 10:47 am  Comments (27)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://mysixthings.wordpress.com/2010/12/23/six-adapted-farewells/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

27 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. ‘Where are you guys going? Wait a minute? I’ll remember this! I’ll remember everyone of ya! I’ll be back; don’t you forget that. I’ll be back.’

  2. Thanks for a great blog, Lindsay — been a great way to get to know you.

    Good luck for the (micro-blogging?) future!

    – The Raven

  3. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Shelly S Terrell, Karenne Sylvester, Lindsay Clandfield and others. Lindsay Clandfield said: The Six Things Project has come to an end. Last post now up. http://bit.ly/hWZNDF […]

  4. Lindsay, I think this is the end of a beautiful blog. (cue Casablanca theme).

  5. “It’s not the number of years blogging, honey. It’s the mileage.”

    Your Six Things Blog / Project has been a real treat to read Lindsay and it’s sad to see it over. But some people believe all good things come to an end (I personally prefer not to believe that ;)) Thanks for it.

  6. It was the best of blogging times, it was the worst of blogging times, it was the age of wisdom, it was the age of foolishness, it was the epoch of belief, it was the epoch of incredulity, it was the season of Light, it was the season of Darkness, it was the spring of hope, it was the winter of despair, we had everything before us, we had nothing before us, we were all going direct to heaven, we were all going direct the other way – in short, the period was so far like the present period, that some of its noisiest authorities insisted on its being received, for good or for evil, in the superlative degree of comparison only.

    • Well, this is a first line not a closing line but it is such a good one that we’ll leave it in! Who, I wonder, are the noisiest authorities in the ELT blogosphere that insist on being received in the superlative degree? 🙂

  7. Thank you for the many, many smiles. Kudos! This was one of my very favorite blogs, but, yes, it’s good to move on. Merry Christmas to you, and all the best for the coming year!

  8. Go hence, to have more talk of these six things;
    Some shall be pardoned, and some punished;
    For never was a story of more enjoyment
    Than this of Lindsay and his blog.

    I will really miss this!!!

  9. Six Things is like a box of chocolates. You never know what you’re gonna get.

  10. He loved Six things

  11. Sic transit gloria blogosphere.

  12. I really loved this blog, but I am perhaps even more impressed that you are closing it. This decision demonstrates a real understanding of how the web works- it constantly shifts and so should the six things- look forward to a new blog lindsay

  13. Bye, Lindsay! Thanks for letting me talk about the six types of books on my shelf! I’ll miss your blog as much as I’ve missed The English Droid.

  14. (Removing wig) “Look, I’m a coursebook writer.”
    “Well, nobody’s perfect.”

    Thank you Lindsay

    “It’s been educational”

  15. Just logging in Christmas Day and saw all these great final farewell lines. Thanks to everyone who has posted! And all the best to you for this holiday season!

  16. Farewell, 6 Things. I look forward to your next webtastic venture, Lindsay. Happy holidays!

  17. Thanks Lindsay for really great blog as well as opportunity to write my very first guest post for you. Six Things was fantastic reading 😉
    Wish you all the best in 2011 – passion, enthusiasm and joy!
    Looking forward to your next project!

  18. Wishing you Six Things for the New Year:

    Peace
    Love
    Happiness
    Good health
    Prosperity
    Best wishes

    from Janet

    PS
    Thank you so much for a very inspiring blog. Of course, I will miss it, but I also look forward to your future web projects, which I am sure will be equally amazing.

  19. “Why was Six Things not made of stone like thee?”

  20. Lindsay,

    ‘Six Things’ was one of the most unique and inspiring blogs in the ELT blogosphere. I’ll miss it.

    Have a great year!

    Burcu

  21. You know, it’s such a great concept I’ll be nicking it from time to time ; P

  22. 😦 sorry I missed this post while on holiday, am feeling very sad to read it now and can’t think of a single nice goodbye quote, I’d rather say hello when you return to the ‘sphere with something else.

    K

  23. How can you stop writing? I just bookmarked your site.

    Good luck. Thanks for the good read.

  24. Fantastic blog, shame you had to stop writing.

    Good luck and thanks for all the great information.

    Jon.

  25. Sad to see you go.

    Thank you for the great information and wish you all the best.

    Sandy

  26. Hey! This blog has been nominated as one of the best of 2011!

    No, I’m not joking… http://www.macmillandictionary.com/from-the-blog/love-english-awards-2011.html


Leave a Reply

